You must tell my story,

What I am demands the screen,

But don’t dare paint something derogatory,

What I am must be seen,

Skin like mine shown in glory,

My sexuality more prominent than it’s ever been,

The country I left’s greatness is obligatory,

My religion displayed in reverent scene,

I am not satisfied with telling my own story.

 

I cannot tell the story I have not been told,

My pen paints personality,

And I will suffer your scold,

My characters are mine in finality,

I’m concerned with whether they’re timid or bold,

I care if you believe the villain’s brutality,

I want you to wonder why the hero is cold,

I want you to feel for an unnoticed war casualty,

Only the author chooses what story is told.

 

But the world needs to know what I have to say,

You’ve no right to keep it from light of day!

 

Then let forth your voice into the light,

Tell the truth with all your might!

20170803_174044


I’d like to use colorful language to describe my dive deep into the despondent dreamland that is representation in media, but my mother reads this blog.  Love you Ma.  The level of intellectual and emotional retardation required to identify with little more than a readily identifiable external trait in a character in fiction plumbs such depths that you’d need a new unit of measurement that is the league by a factor of twelve just to get a vague idea of it, or at least it does in my estimation.  What boggles the mind of a well-rounded human being with a firm sense of self and a healthy respect for others is the concept that you’d need to see in entertainment a character that is like you in enough facets in order to identify with that character instead of something slightly more universal such as, oh I don’t know, the shared struggles of all mankind?  I defy anybody to read that sentence aloud in a single breath.  Video or it didn’t happen.  Back to representation in media; good, interesting, flawed characters are what I want to write, and what they look like is of secondary concern.  In fact, I often leave many details up to the reader so that they can have room to interoperate the character in unique ways.

Leave a Reply

